The NBCE develops, administers and scores standardized exams that assess knowledge, higher-level cognitive abilities and problem-solving in various basic science and clinical science subjects.

The NBCE examinations include:

Parts I, II, III, and Physiotherapy Exams

These exams are offered at chiropractic colleges in the United States and some international locations.

Part I: Assesses academic proficiency in six basic science areas.

Part IIAssesses academic proficiency in six clinical science areas.

Part III: Assesses application of knowledge in nine areas of clinical competency.

Physiotherapy: An elective, single subject examination that includes passive adjunctive procedures and active adjunctive procedures.

Part IV National Practical Exam

This exam is offered at chiropractic colleges in the United States.

Part IV: Examinees are asked to perform assessments similar to those they might encounter in practice.

Examinees typically take the NBCE Part I, Part II, Part III and Part IV exams before graduating from chiropractic college. Exam scores are made available to licensing authorities within and outside the United States. In the U.S., all 50 states either accept or require candidates to pass NBCE exams Parts I, II, III, and IV for licensure.

SPEC, Acupuncture, and FCLR

These exams are offered at Pearson Professional Centers throughout North America.

Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC): An assessment tool in the area of clinical competency.

Acupuncture: Includes history/philosophy of acupuncture in a chiropractic setting, organs, qi and fluid, channels/pathways, acupoints, acupuncture techniques, basic treatment tenets/protocols, and safety and hygiene.

Florida Chiropractic Laws and Rules Exam: Required for licensure candidates in the state of Florida.

Chiropractic College Aptitude Test

CCAT: Provides the prospective student and his/her chiropractic college with measures of ability in mathematics, biology, chemistry, and physics.